Utopian SF

SF readers, check out this essay in the Boston Globe Ideas section, by Joshua Glenn – Back to utopia. It’s mainly about the critic Fredric Jameson, and his views on Philip K. Dick, Samuel R. Delany and utopian ideas in modern sf. More on utopian fiction by Jameson, an essay – The Politics of Utopia.
Glenn notes: “Fans of Dick, Delany, and their ilk warn neophytes not to read too many of their books too quickly: Doing so, as this reader can attest, tends to result in pronounced feelings of irreality, paranoia, and angst”. And we thought it was something in the water …

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *